(Information sent by the signatory company)

— Annual award for the best book on international affairs published in English —

TORONTO and WASHINGTON, Jan. 31, 2023 /PRNewswire/ — Janice Gross Stein and Ian Shugart will co-chair the international jury for the 2023 Lionel Gelber Award. The $50,000 award is given to the best published nonfiction book on international affairs in English from the Munk School of Global Affairs

This year’s jury features a group of leading international affairs experts, including co-chairs Ian Shugart (Ottawa) and Janice Stein (Toronto), returning juror Francis J. Gavin (Washington), Rosa Brooks ( Washington) and Luis Rubio (Mexico).

“For more than three decades, the Prize has highlighted some of the most important nonfiction books on international affairs and, in doing so, has delved into the debate on pressing global issues, from international security to global trade, from the future of our digital world to the rise of authoritarianism,” said Judith Gelber, chair of the Lionel Gelber Prize Board. “We are delighted to have such an excellent group of judges to decide this year’s award.”

Key dates: The jury will announce its shortlist of five finalists on February 28, 2023, after which podcast interviews with the shortlisted authors will be published. The winner will be announced on April 4, 2023 and will participate in a live awards ceremony.

About the Award: The Lionel Gelber Award is a literary award for the best nonfiction book on international affairs published in English. The award was founded in 1989 in honor of the famous Canadian diplomat Lionel Gelber. In 2023, the value of the Prize increased to C$50,000 for the winning book. The prize is awarded annually by the Munk School of Global Affairs


About the 2023 Lionel Gelber Prize Jury

Ian Shugart, Co-Chairman of the Jury (Ottawa) is regarded as one of Canada’s foremost leaders in the public sector, with a career spanning over 40 years in government. In 2022, Ian Shugart joined the Munk School of Global Affairs as a professor

From 2019 to 2021, Shugart served as the 24th Secretary of the Privy Council and Secretary to the Cabinet. As head of the Public Service, he was the primary link between the Prime Minister and Canada’s public service, responsible for providing expert, professional and non-partisan advice and service to the Prime Minister, Cabinet and all Canadians.

Shugart holds a BA (Hons) in Political Economy from Trinity College, University of Toronto.

Janice Gross Stein, Co-Chair of the Jury (Toronto) is Belzberg Professor of Conflict Management in the Department of Political Science and Founding Director of the Munk School of Global Affairs

Francis J. Gavin (Washington) is the Giovanni Agnelli Distinguished Professor and inaugural director of the Henry A. Kissinger Center for Global Affairs at SAIS-Johns Hopkins University. In 2013, Gavin was named the first Frank Stanton Professor of Nuclear Security Policy Studies and Professor of Political Science at MIT. Before joining MIT, he was the Tom Slick Professor of International Affairs and Director of the Robert S. Strauss Center for International Security and Law at the University of Texas. Gavin is Chairman of the Editorial Board of the Texas National Security Review. His writings include Gold, Dollars, and Power: The Politics of International Monetary Relations, 1958-1971 and Nuclear Statecraft: History and Strategy in America’s Atomic Age. His latest book, Nuclear Weapons and American Grand Strategy, was published by Brookings Institution Press in 2020.

Rosa Brooks (Washington) is the Scott K. Ginsburg Chair of Law and Policy at Georgetown University Law Center, where she has been a Senior Lecturer since 2006. She is also Associate Dean of Georgetown Law Centers and Institutes and Co-Director of the Georgetown Public Safety Innovation Center.

Among other roles, Brooks is an Adjunct Professor at West Point’s Institute of Modern Warfare, Principal Investigator for the ASU Future of War in New America, and Co-Founder of the Leadership Council for Women in National Security (LCWINS). From 2009 to 2011, Brooks was an adviser to the Assistant Secretary of Defense for Policy. In July 2011, she received the Secretary of Defense’s Medal for Outstanding Public Service. She was previously Senior Advisor to the Undersecretary of State for Democracy, Human Rights and Labor.

Brooks es autora de How Everything Became War and the Military Became Everything (Simon

Brooks graduated with a BA in History and Literature from Harvard and an MA in Social Anthropology from Oxford, where she was a Marshall Fellow. She received a law degree from Yale Law School.

Luis Rubio(Mexico) is President of CIDAC (Centro de Investigación para el Desarrollo), an independent research institution dedicated to the study of political and economic policy issues. He is a prolific writer on political, economic and international issues. During the 1970s he was director of planning for Citibank in Mexico and advisor to the Mexican Secretary of Finance. He has held a management position in the Human Rights Commission of the Federal District, is a member of the Trilateral Commission and a Global Fellow of the Wilson Center in Washington.

Rubio writes a weekly column for Reforma and his opinions and analysis often appear in major newspapers such as The Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal and the Los Angeles Times. He has won the APRA Award (year included), the Dag Hammarskjöld Award (1993) and the National Journalism Award (1998) for his opinion pieces. He is the author and editor of forty-eight books, including Mexico’s Dilemma: The Political Origins of Economic Crisis. His latest book, published by the Wilson Center, is A Mexican Utopia: The Rule of Law is Possible. He holds a Diploma in Financial Management and a Masters and PhD in Political Science from Brandeis University.

Photo – https://mma.prnewswire.com/media/1992981…

CONTACT: Lani Krantz, Communications and Media Relations Specialist, tel. 1 (647) 407-4384

View original content: https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/anunciado-el-jurado-internacional-de-expertos-para-el-premio-lionel-gelber-2023-301735230.html