(Information sent by the signatory company)

—Award awarded annually to the best book in the English language on international affairs—

TORONTO, WASHINGTON, LONDON and ROME, January 10, 2024/PRNewswire/ — The Lionel Gelber Prize Board is pleased to announce the jury for the 34th award of the prestigious Lionel Gelber Prize.

Joining jury president Professor Janice Gross Stein will be returning jurors Francis J. Gavin (Washington) and Rosa Brooks (Washington), along with new jurors Iain Martin (London) and Eric Reguly (Rome).

“We are proud of the depth and diversity of this jury. They have deep experience in exploring complex issues in international affairs that lead to deeper public debate and understanding,” said Judith Gelber, Chair of the Lionel Prize Board Gelber.

Founded in 1989 in honor of Canadian diplomat and author Lionel Gelber, the Lionel Gelber Prize is a literary award for the world’s best non-fiction book on foreign affairs, published in English. The author of the winning book receives 50,000 Canadian dollars at the Lionel Gelber Award ceremony in Toronto. The award is presented annually by the Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy at the University of Toronto.

The jury will announce a shortlist of five books nominated for the Prize on February 8, 2024 and the winner will be announced in March.


About the jury of the Lionel Gelber Prize 2024

Janice Gross Stein, Jury Chair (Toronto) is Belzberg Professor of Conflict Management and founding director of the Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy at the University of Toronto. She is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and a Member of the Order of Canada and the Order of Ontario. She was a Massey Professor in 2001 and a Trudeau Scholar. The Canada Council awarded him the Molson Prize for outstanding contribution by a social scientist to public debate. Stein is an honorary foreign member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and a senior fellow at the SAIS Kissinger Center at Johns Hopkins University. Her current research focuses on technology and public policy in the context of great power competition. Last year, she co-chaired Canada’s National Advisory Committee on Indo-Pacific Strategy for the Minister of Global Affairs and she is currently President of the Daniels Foundation and Chair of the Board of Directors of the Halifax Security Forum. Her articles and essays have appeared in Foreign Affairs, The Globe and Mail, and National Post. Her most recent publication is on “Managing Escalation in Ukraine” published in Texas National Security Review in 2023. Her weekly global affairs podcast, Friday Focus, airs every Friday.

Rosa Brooks (Washington) holds the Scott K. Ginsburg Chair in Law and Policy at Georgetown University Law Center. She is also Associate Dean of Centers and Institutes at Georgetown Law and co-director of the Georgetown Center for Public Safety Innovations. Brooks is an adjunct senior fellow at the Modern War Institute at West Point, an ASU Future of War Senior Fellow at New America, and co-founder of the Leadership Council for Women in National Security (LCWINS). From 2009 to 2011, she was an advisor to the Under Secretary of Defense for Policy. In July 2011, she received the Secretary of Defense Medal for her outstanding public service. She previously served as Senior Advisor to the Undersecretary of State for Democracy, Human Rights and Labor. Brooks is the author of How Everything Became War and the Military Became Everything (Simon

Francis J. Gavin (Washington) is the Giovanni Agnelli Distinguished Professor and inaugural director of the Henry A. Kissinger Center for Global Affairs at the School of Advanced International Studies at Johns Hopkins University. In 2013, Gavin was named the first Frank Stanton Chair of Nuclear Security Policy Studies and Professor of Political Science at MIT. Before joining MIT, he was the Tom Slick Professor of International Affairs and director of the Robert S. Strauss Center for International Security and Law at the University of Texas. Gavin is the chairman of the editorial board of Texas National Security Review. His writings include Gold, Dollars, and Power: The Politics of International Monetary Relations, 1958-1971 and Nuclear Statecraft: History and Strategy in America’s Atomic Age. His latest book, Nuclear Weapons and American Grand Strategy, was published by Brookings Institution Press in 2020.

Iain Martin (London) is a London-based journalist and author. He is director of the London Defense Conference, the geopolitical meeting held annually in collaboration with King’s College London. Iain writes a weekly column for The Times of London and is director of Engelsberg Ideas for the Axel and Margaret Ax:son Johnson Foundation.

Eric Reguly (Rome) is the European bureau chief for The Globe and Mail, based in Rome. Since 2007, when he moved to Europe, Reguly has covered economic, financial and environmental stories, from the euro zone crisis and bank bailouts to the rise and fall of Russian oligarchs and various UN climate summits. Since late 2022, he has reported on the Ukraine war for The Globe and Mail. Reguly won the Hyman Solomon Award for Excellence in Public Policy Journalism and was the 2010 co-winner of a National Newspaper Award. In 2010, he won gold at Canada’s National Magazine Awards and from SABEW (the Society for the Advancement of Business Publishing and Writing) in 2015 and 2020. His book, Ghosts of War: Chasing My Father’s Legend Through Vietnam, was published by Sutherland House Books in 2022.

Lani Krantz, Communications and Media Relations Specialist at 1 (647) 407-4384 (text preferred)

Photo – https://mma.prnewswire.com/media/2314542/The_Lionel_Gelber_Prize_Expert_international_jury_announced_for.jpg

View original content: https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/anunciado-el-jurado-internacional-de-expertos-para-el-premio-lionel-gelber-2024-302031361.html